WYWOP - Conductors

Every year, the International Wind Music Festival Mid EUROPE has a first-class selection of local conductors who not only conduct the master class "Conducting", but above all the orchestra projects WYWOP and WAWOP.

Present at Mid EUROPE 2021:


Kevin L. Sedatole
The American is almost a "regular guest" at Mid EUROPE, Kevin Sedatole has been invited as a guest conductor several times, including Mid EUROPE 2020, where Kevin and Paulo Martins run the master class "Conducting" and support the orchestral projects WYWOP and WAWOP. Kevin Sedatole serves as Director of Bands, Professor of Music, and Chair of the conducting area at the Michigan State University College of Music. At MSU, Professor Sedatole serves as administrator of the entire band program totaling over 700 students His performances range from the United States to Europe and Japan.

Paulo Martins 2

Paulo Martins
The Portuguese conductor Paulo Martins will be attending Mid EUROPE for the first time in 2020, supervising the orchestral projects WYWOP and WAWOP in addition to the master class "Conducting". Among his teachers are the renowned conductors Jan Cober, Osvaldo Ferreira, Ernest Schelle, Eugene Corporon and Jorma Panula. Paulo Martins has been awarded several times the "Certamen Internacional de Bandas de Valencia" Prize. He is currently a teacher at the Porto Conservatory, artistic director of the International Philharmonic D 'Gold Competition, and artistic director of the Orchestra and Youth Symphony Orchestra of Santa Maria da Feira and the Portuguese Band Academy (APB).

Johann Mösenbichler 005 © Mösenbichler 2014

Johann Mösenbichler
Prof. Johann Mösenbichler joined the Executive Board of the MID EUROPE in 1997, and was appointed as the President of the “Mid Europe Festival” in Schladming in 2000.He is the artistic director of the festival and principal conductor of the Bavarian Police Orchestra as well as a professor at the Anton Bruckner Private University for Music in Linz. Johann Mösenbichler performs and conducts widely, teaches, and has served as a clinician and adjudicator at seminars, workshops and competitions in Asia, the USA, and throughout Europe. He has also been honored to conduct prestigious orchestras such as the Sinfonietta Da Camera in Salzburg.

Verena Mösenbichler Bryant 004 © Mösenbichler Bryant 2017

Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant
Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant serves as Executive Director of the World Youth Wind Orchestra Project and the World Adult Wind Orchestra Project of the annual Mid-Europe festival in Schladming. Together with her father, Verena is planning the new project Multi National Symphony Orchestra for 2020. Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant serves as Associate Professor of the Practice of Music at Duke University, Director of the Duke University Wind Symphony, Director of Undergraduate Studies for the music department and Artistic Director & conductor of the Durham Medical Orchestra. Verena serves frequently as cover conductor for the North Carolina Symphony, and as guest conductor and clinician across the United States, Japan, as well as in her native Austria.

Besides the conductors, Mid EUROPE always welcomes special guests, so you can look forward to an outstanding musician in 2021:

Steven Mead

Euphoniumsoloist Steven Mead
Steven Mead is well known to brass musicians and euphonium lovers around the globe, admired above all for his expressive interpretations of the musical repertoire. His concerts are distinguished by the unique communication he establishes between performer and audience. Steven Mead may fairly be described as one of the most recorded solo wind musicians worldwide, with over 65 CDs released since 1990. His extraordinary pioneering work with the euphonium has brought him international fame as a leading euphonium soloist. His innovative contributions include the founding of special euphonium schools in the Benelux countries and Japan, organization of the "National Tuba Euphonium Festival" as well as mouthpiece and instrument design.

Previous Conductors and Guests

2019: Gary Hill (Arizona State University), Jacob de Haan (composer/conductor from the Netherlands), Johann Mösenbichler, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant

Section Coaches: Katharina Eckerstorfer, Richard Frey, Lisa McKim-Hill, Dennis Llinas, Oliver Hummel, Marc Sosnowchik, Ryan Kelly, Heribert Prinz, Serena Weren

2018: Miguel Etchegoncelay, Frank Ticheli, Johann Mösenbichler, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant, Michael Markowski and Steven Bryant

Solistin: Maria Planer

Section Coaches: Matthew Dockendorf, Katharina Eckerstorfer, Richard Frey, Josh Gall, Donna Hryniewicki, Oliver Hummel, Marc Sosnowchik, Ryan Kelly, Heribert Prinz, Serena Weren,

2017: Jerry Junkin, Kevin Sedatole, Phillip Riggs, Johann Mösenbichler, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant, Eric Whitacre, Jonathan Newman, Steven Bryant, Sebastian Schraml, Michael Markowski, and John Mackey

Soloists: Hila Plitmann, soprano (Grammy Award winner), Dirk Hirthe, tuba

Section Coaches: Ryan Kelly, Benjamin Lorenzo, Heribert Prinz, Carlos Rodriguez Rodriguez, Matthew Sedatole, Marc Sosnowchik, William Staub

2016: Henrie Adams, Douglas Henderson, Benjamin Lorenzo, Daniel Tembras, Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant

Section Coaches: Douglas Henderson, Benjamin Lorenzo, Michael Markowski, Heribert Prinz, Katharina Eckerstorfer, Carlos Rodriguez, Daniel Tembras